Non-Academic Staff Unions Of Nigerian Universities Warning Strike Has Been Suspended

The Non-academic staff unions of Nigerian universities comprising National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT), Non–Academic Staff Union of Educational and Associated Institutions (NASU), and Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU) on Yesterday suspended its 5-day warning strike. The suspension of the strike was announced by the Joint Action Committee (JAC) of the unions in a communiqué jointly signed by Mr Sani Suleiman, President (NAAT), Mr Solomon Alfa, Vice-President (SSANU), Mr Peters Adeyemi, General Secretary (NASU), Dr Jamila Suara, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Education and Permanent Secretary in Labour and Employment Ministry, Mr Clement Illoh and read out to newsmen by the Deputy General Secretary of SSANU, Mr Festus Ajayi, at the end of the meeting with the Federal Government. Ajayi urged the Federal Government to ensure that they do not renege on the 2009 agreement as reaffirmed in the just concluded meeting. Illoh, who represented the Minister of Labour and Employment, Sen. Chris Ngige, commended the unions for their understanding. it will be recalled that the Joint Action Committee (JAC) of the unions declared a five – day warning strike effective from Jan. 16

READ  KUST Wudil (UTME/DE) 2016/2017 Admission List Is Out

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.